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   March 21, 2024 
 

 
Matthew Kalmick  
Curaleaf NJ, II, Inc.  

 
 
 

Re: FINAL AGENCY DECISION 
Acceptance of Expanded Alternative Treatment Center’s (“Expanded ATC”) 
Renewal Application to Operate in Personal-Use Cannabis Market 
 

 
Dear Matthew Kalmick:  
 
Congratulations! The New Jersey Cannabis Regulatory Commission (“NJ-CRC” or “Commission”) 
has approved your request for license renewal(s) to operate as an Expanded Alternative Treatment 
Center.  The above-listed entity will be permitted to engage in adult, personal-use cannabis activities 
in New Jersey under the following licenses and at the following locations, provided it fully complies 
with all conditions imposed in this Final Agency Decision:  
 

1. Class 1 Cannabis Cultivator, 200 State Highway Route 73, Winslow, New Jersey, Expiration 
April 17, 2025; 

2. Class 1 Cannabis Cultivator, 640 Creek Road, Bellmawr, New Jersey, Expiration April 17, 
2025;  

3. Class 2 Cannabis Manufacturer, 200 State Highway Route 73, Winslow, New Jersey, 
Expiration April 17, 2025;  

4. Class 5 Cannabis Retailer, 640 Creek Road, Bellmawr, New Jersey, Expiration April 20, 
2025;     

5. Class 5 Cannabis Retailer, 4237 South U.S. Route 130, Edgewater Park, New Jersey, 
Expiration April 20, 2025. 

 
This letter serves as written notice that NJ-CRC has approved the expanded ATC to operate in the 
adult personal-use market, provided it abides by the conditions imposed below.   Details on the 
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Commission’s review of materials, terms and conditions of Commission approval, and next steps 
are provided below. Please read the following information carefully; failure to satisfy any 
requirement may result in penalties levied against the expanded ATC, including fines and license 
suspension, revocation, or renewal denial. 
 
NJ-CRC Review of Renewal Application Materials 
 

Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 17:30-9.4(m)(4), After the end of the second year of expanded ATC’s 
licensure, the license renewal process pursuant to N.J.A.C. 17:30-7.16 shall be followed.  

 
Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 17:30-7.16(a) A license holder holding an annual license, including an 

annual license converted from a conditional license, shall renew such annual license annually. 
Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 17:30-7.16(c), A license holder shall submit a renewal application no later than 
90 days prior to the expiration of the current cannabis business license. Submission within 90 days 
of expiration of the current cannabis business license may result in a lapse in the cannabis business's 
licensure and subject the cannabis business to enforcement action.   

 
Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 17:30-7.16(d), the following may be grounds for denial of a license 

renewal application: 
 
1. Failure to provide truthful, correct, and current information; 
2. Failure to maintain compliance with the Act or this chapter; 
3. Failure to maintain its diversely owned business, impact zone business, social equity 

 business, or microbusiness status; 
4. The inclusion of a person or entity not deemed qualified to hold a license; or 
5. The commission of three or more major violations within the preceding 12 months. 
 
Additionally, an expanded ATC must pay the requisite renewal fees for each requested 

license under N.J.A.C. 17:30-7.17.   
 

 
Terms and Conditions of NJ-CRC Approval 
 
The Commission’s approval provided herein is based and conditioned on the information provided 
in the entity’s certification materials. It is your responsibility to ensure the entity understands and 
complies with all applicable regulations, regardless of whether they are expressly mentioned in this 
letter. Furthermore, because the approval is conditioned on evidence that the entity’s adult-use 
cannabis activities will not negatively impact patient access to medicinal cannabis, the 
Commission’s acceptance of the entity’s certification materials is subject to the terms and conditions 
explained below regarding patient access, medicinal cannabis inventory, social equity, labor, and 
product testing. 
 
Adherence to the entity’s plans submitted to the Commission and the terms and conditions below is 
an ongoing requirement for licensure as an Expanded Alternative Treatment Center. Failure to 
adhere to the conditions and commitments in the entity’s certification materials, or failure to satisfy 
any required terms and conditions set forth below, may result in adverse action taken against the 
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expanded ATC, including suspension or revocation of any issued permit or license. The NJ-CRC is 
authorized to take these enforcement actions pursuant to N.J.A.C. 17:30-20.5. 
 
Plans for Patient Access 
 
The expanded ATC must satisfy all of the following conditions: 
 

• Have business operating hours include at least 14 patient-only hours spread over at least three 
(3) days per week, including at least one (1) weekend day.  Patient-only hours should be held 
at different times throughout the week to accommodate patients and designated caregivers 
with different schedules; 

• Provide exclusive parking options for patients and designated caregivers at all times; 
• Designate points-of-sale that will be available for use exclusively by patients and designated 

caregivers at all times. All points-of-sale shall be available for patient use at any time. If 
patients are experiencing a wait time in excess of five (5) minutes, other points-of-sale must 
be made available to serve patients to reduce the wait time before serving personal-use 
cannabis purchasers; 

• Provide express access to the ATC to minimize the wait time for patients and designated 
caregivers; 

• Provide patients and designated caregivers with the exclusive ability to reserve products 
ahead of time so that they can be assured their order will be filled when going to the ATC; 

• Provide a patient access telephone line staffed by ATC employees during all business hours 
to assist patients and designated caregivers trying to access the ATC;   

• Within 30 days of being issued the above-listed licenses, hold at least two (2) virtual town 
halls with registered patients and caregivers to provide information on the ATC’s patient 
access plan. Each virtual town hall must be conducted in a manner that complies with any 
applicable patient privacy laws and regulations; and 

• Provide the NJ-CRC with weekly reports on patient access. Weekly reports must include, at 
a minimum, the following information: 

o Average wait times for patients 
o Number of patients served  
o Medicinal Cannabis Product Dispensed  
o Medicinal Cannabis Product on-hand (packaged) 
o Medicinal Cannabis Product on-hand (bulk) 

 
Additionally, the NJ-CRC encourages, but is not requiring, each expanded ATC to provide exclusive 
home delivery for patients and online ordering and exclusive express curbside pick-up for patients. 
 
The expanded ATC must cooperate with the NJ-CRC by providing weekly reports on the entity’s 
efforts to maintain patient access to medicinal cannabis. 
 
Plans for Ensuring Adequate Medicinal Cannabis Inventory 
 
The expanded ATC must maintain a “Minimum Adequate Supply” of medicinal cannabis for 
patients, plus a “Reasonable Minimum Reserve.” 
 



 
4 

 

A Minimum Adequate Supply shall be calculated by determining the average purchases of packaged 
products by patients in the preceding three (3) months at the ATC. The “Minimum Adequate Supply” 
should be adjusted up to account for new patient enrollment, should the ATC experience an increase 
in the number of patients enrolled at the ATC month over month.   
 

Minimum Adequate Supply = [(current patients enrolled at the ATC) ÷ (patients enrolled at 
the ATC 3 months prior)] × (Average amount of medical cannabis purchased over the 
preceding three (3) months at the ATC) 

 
A Reasonable Minimum Reserve shall be a three-month reserve calculated by determining the 
average amount of medical cannabis purchased over the last three (3) months and multiplying it by 
three (3). To meet the Reasonable Minimum Reserve, the ATC may include packaged and bulk 
product.  The ATC may also include flower that is drying or curing, and the raw materials for 
manufacturing medicinal cannabis products. 
 

Reasonable Minimum Reserve = [Minimum Adequate Supply] × 3 
 
The expanded ATC must cooperate with the NJ-CRC by providing weekly reports on medicinal 
product availability and inventory levels. 
 
Plans for Social Equity 
 
The expanded ATC must satisfy all of the following conditions: 
 

• In accordance with N.J.A.C. 17:30-9.4(e), make a good faith effort to employ individuals 
who either:  

(1) have past marijuana- or hashish-related convictions, or  
(2) at the time of employment, have lived in an Economically Disadvantaged Area for 

five (5) of the last ten (10) years and in the preceding tax year made 80% or less of 
the median house-hold family income. 

Any such efforts shall be conducted in compliance with P.L. 2014, c.32, P.L. 2019, c.199, 
and any other applicable employment or labor laws and regulations.  

• Submit progress reports that include specifics on the good faith efforts being made to ensure 
the expanded ATC’s social equity plans as presented in the entity’s certifications to the NJ-
CRC are being achieved. These progress reports should be prepared in accordance with 
guidance from the Commission’s Office of Diversity and Inclusion.  

 
The Commission may request additional information from the expanded ATC to help it determine 
if efforts are being made in good faith. 
 
Labor Peace and Collective Bargaining 
 
If a majority of the expanded ATC’s employees express interest in a particular bona fide labor 
organization, as defined under N.J.S.A. 24:6I-1 through 56, the expanded ATC shall make a good 
faith effort to negotiate and execute a labor peace agreement with that bona fide labor organization.  
Labor peace agreements provide the NJ-CRC with the assurance that, should an entity be licensed, 
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its operations will not be shut down due to labor-dispute or labor-related work stoppages.   
 
After entering into a labor peace agreement, if a majority of the expanded ATC’s employees support 
joining a particular bona fide labor organization, then the expanded ATC shall, within 200 days of 
executing a labor peace agreement, make a good faith effort to enter into a collective bargaining 
agreement.  
 
Failure of an expanded ATC to abide by its executed labor peace and collective bargaining 
agreements may result in adverse action against the entity, including possible suspension or 
revocation of an ATC’s license or permit or denial of any permit or license renewal.  

 
Laboratory Testing 
 
The expanded ATC is required to utilize a Commission-licensed testing laboratory to test cannabis 
items pursuant to the Commission’s regulations.  
 
Next Steps 
 
By accepting this provisional award for license renewal, the expanded ATC is agreeing to be subject 
to the terms and conditions stated in this letter, as well as any requirements in applicable regulation. 
Before the license is renewed, he expanded ATC must submit payment for the associated renewal 
licensing fee under N.J.A.C. 17:30-7.17 for each license. Accordingly, payment in the amount of 
$150,000 is due and owed before the entity can continue to engage in any activities associated with 
the adult-use cannabis market for an additional year. The breakdown of fees is as follows:  
 

• Class 1 Cannabis Cultivator (Tier VI), 200 State Highway Route 73, Winslow, New Jersey, 
Expiration April 17, 2025:  $50,000 

• Class 1 Cannabis Cultivator (Tier VI), 640 Creek Road, Bellmawr, New Jersey, Expiration 
April 17, 2025:  $50,000 

• Class 2 Cannabis Manufacturer (over 10,000 sq. Ft.), 200 State Highway Route 73, Winslow, 
New Jersey, Expiration April 17, 2025; $30,000 

• Class 5 Cannabis Retailer, 640 Creek Road, Bellmawr, New Jersey, Expiration April 20, 
2025;    $10,000 

• Class 5 Cannabis Retailer, 4237 South U.S. Route 130, Edgewater Park, New Jersey, 
Expiration April 20, 2025.  $10,000 

 
The NJ-CRC will email you an invoice that must be paid online using the Commission’s licensing 
portal. If payment is not received within thirty (30) days of accepting this award, the NJ-CRC will 
email a final notice regarding the unpaid invoice. Failure to pay the required fees within sixty (60) 
days of accepting this award will result in the award automatically being rescinded and the entity’s 
license renewal being rejected in the online licensing portal. 
 
Additionally, as elaborated in NJ-CRC's emergency meeting held on April 17, 2023, this approval 
is conditioned upon compliance with the following:  
 

1. By the next regular meeting of the Board, the entity shall provide the NJ-CRC Board with 
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evidence of good faith efforts between now and June 1 to negotiate a Collective Bargaining 
Agreement (CBA) at each of the licenses set forth below; and  

2. By the next regular meeting of the Board, the entity shall attest under oath that it is not 
engaging in union-busting activities or tactics; and  

3. By the next regular meeting of the Board, the entity shall provide additional, updated 
information and evidence regarding all necessary and reasonable steps to achieve employee 
and vendor-contractor participation, specifically for New Jersey, by persons who meet one 
of more of the following criteria, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 17:30-6.6: 

a. have lived in an economically disadvantaged area for five of the 10 preceding years 
and is, based on the preceding year's income, a member of a household that has a 
household income that is 80 percent or less of the average median household income 
in the State, as determined annually by the U.S. Census Bureau; 

b. have been adjudicated delinquent for, or convicted of, whether expunged or not, in 
this State, another state, or the Federal government at least two marijuana- or hashish-
related disorderly persons offenses; or 

c. have been adjudicated delinquent for, or convicted of, whether expunged or not, in 
this State, another state, or the Federal government at least one marijuana- or hashish-
related indictable offense. 

4. By the next regular meeting of the Board, the entity shall produce to the NJ-CRC Board all 
records, documents, and testimony requested by the Board, that concern its intentions to 
modify their New Jersey operations. This includes any records, documents, and testimony 
that concern decisions on modifications to the operational capacity, physical plant, premises, 
or administrative office at any of the facilities/licenses set forth below; and   

5. If, at the next regular meeting of the Board, or any time thereafter, the Board determines the 
entity failed to satisfy the conditions, the Board may take enforcement action and/or issue 
any penalties allowable under N.J.A.C. 17:30, including fines or revocation of the renewed 
license.   

 
Congratulations once again on your successful request and thank you for your continued interest in 
working with the NJ-CRC to establish a safe and equitable cannabis industry for the state of New 
Jersey. Should you have any questions regarding this correspondence, please submit your inquiry to 
the NJ-CRC Licensing inbox at crc.licensing@crc.nj.gov. 
 

 
Sincerely, 
 
 
 
Dianna Houenou 
Chairperson 
New Jersey Cannabis Regulatory Commission 




